the-simple-art-of-flying-9781534420991_hr.jpg

Publisher: Aladdin/Simon & Schuster
Realease Date: February 12, 2019
Length: 361 pages (hardcover)
ISBN13: 9781534420991

2019award-silver.png

Quirky characters, plucky humor, and a heartwarming message come together in this big-hearted debut novel about friendship and the true meaning of family.

Sometimes flying means keeping your feet on the ground…

Born in a dismal room in a pet store, Alastair the African grey parrot dreams of escape to bluer skies. He’d like nothing more than to fly away to a palm tree with his beloved sister, Aggie. But when Aggie is purchased by twelve-year-old Fritz, and Alastair is adopted by elderly dance-enthusiast and pie-baker Albertina Plopky, the future looks ready to crash-land.

In-between anxiously plucking his feathers, eating a few books, and finding his own poetic voice, Alastair plots his way to a family reunion. But soon he’s forced to choose between the life he’s always dreamed of and admitting the truth: that sometimes, the bravest adventure is in letting go.


How can your dreams fly free when you’re a bird in a cage? This quirky, unique, sad/funny story is about Alastair, a grey parrot who’s born in the back of a pet store but dreams of escape. But being sold isn’t what he meant! One day, he’s bought by an elderly widow, Mrs Albertina Plopky – and even worse, his sister Aggie is bought by a young boy named Fritz. Will Alastair ever find Aggie again? Will they ever fly free? Right now, Alastair’s anxiously plucking his feathers out, trying to think of a plan. But maybe all isn’t lost quite yet.

One fierce parrot. One spirited old lady. One big-hearted boy.

A funny, heart-shattering novel about three lonely misfits learning to live fully-fledged lives. This debut novel is a heart-felt, bird's-eye view of love and what it means to break free from the cages we build for ourselves—and the courage it may take to finally let go.

-A soaring debut novel about love and breaking free
-A tale of escaping from the cages we build for ourselves
-This tear-jerker has ‘modern classic’ written all over it
-Perfect for fans of Charlotte’s Web and The Last Wild

182127-ml-1748814.jpg

Publisher: Scholastic UK
Realease Date: February 7th, 2019
Length: 350 pages (paperback)
ISBN: 9781407186719